Shark Cake Take Two…

7 Jun

This is my latest cake which was made for Matthew who turned four at the weekend – Happy Birthday Matthew.  It is based on the shark cake from Lindy Smith’s Party Cakes book, and carved from a 12″ by 4″ madeira cake, which I layered with raspberry jam and vanilla buttercream.  I think it is the first time I have closely followed instructions in a cake book, and it went really well – it certainly cut down the effort of working out how to do it at least!  I really like the marbled effect on the board.  I’d love to do a whole cake covered in that with some contrasting flowers on it.  

Matthew’s family have the accolade of being my best customers; this is the fourth cake I have made for them over the past year.  Indeed, it was this time last year that I made Matthew’s third birthday cake (funny that!).  I think it is quite unusual for a child in particular to ask for the same cake theme twice, but Matthew is definitely consistent in his affections and he still likes sharks!  My previous effort can be found at http://morecakeplease.posterous.com/shark-cake-anyone.  Last year’s shark cake was the second full-hearted attempt at cake decorating I’d made really and I do think I have improved over the past year, even if I do say so myself – I probably wouldn’t have attempted Lindy Smith’s cake twelve months ago.  Now…I wonder whether Matthew will still like sharks in twelve months time….

Leave a comment